Still, Life: A Creative Journey of Living with Death

Death:OK (Let’s Talk About It) is a day of inspiration, information, and connection taking place October 17, 2015 on the campus of Reed College in Portland, Oregon.  As part of an ongoing series profiling our presenters, we’re pleased to introduce you to…

Sarah Treanor, presenting “Still, Life: A Creative Journey of Living with Death.”

treanors_01Creativity has immeasurable power to help us understand and process death. The Austin-based artist will discuss her year-long photographic series, “Still, Life” which chronicles her journey of living with the death of her fiance in 2012. She will also share other creative tools – painting, writing, sculpting – and speak to the specific ways in which they enable her to integrate death into living life more fully. Sarah’s goal is to inspire the audience, and give them tangible ways to explore death through creativity in their own lives.

“My close relationship with death began at age 9, when I lost my mother. At age 26, I lost my father. Finally, in 2012, before the age of 30, I also lost my fiance. As an artist and writer, I have used creativity to help myself process and understand death. I’ve learned through the years the importance of sharing our stories, interpretations, and perspectives to help ourselves and others heal. Creativity has helped me integrate my familiarity with death into living life more fully.” ~ Sarah Treanor

Related Links

 

This entry was posted in Arts and Experience, News, Presentation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still, Life: A Creative Journey of Living with Death

  1. Pingback: Death:OK Presenters Announced! - Death:OK. Let's talk about it. October 17, 2015.

Leave a Reply

